How To Be A StepMom

Home Forums SMA Exchange How To Be A StepMom

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Megan Edwards 3 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Megan Edwards
    Keymaster

This is an anonymous submission by one of our subscribers.

How to be a StepMom

I’m new to blended families and sometimes I wonder how to be a StepMom. I love my partner and I love the children that came with the relationship, but there are so many things I didn’t expect to be part of the situation. I feel like there is little StepMom support out there other than the support of my partner and things like StepMoms Anonymous. Most people tell me to do “whatever is in the best interest of the children” and I get that. The children are so important to me and I feel that goes without saying. I just want to feel like my needs are addressed too. I don’t want to sacrifice my own happiness to keep harmony between the Ex and my partner and I don’t’ want to cross any lines with the bio mom while doing my step parenting duties. So I’m wondering how to be a StepMom, a partner and an individual who doesn’t always have to always be the one “taking the high road”. What did you do when trying to figure out how to be a StepMom? Do you have any key StepMom advice to give that worked for you?

Megan Edwards
    Keymaster